jump to navigation

The trouble with flickr June 17, 2006

Posted by Paul Rees in flickr.
trackback

The trouble with flickr, it seems to me, is that it’s turned into the largest photo contest in the world. The social aspect of it has become secondary or even unimportant.

I’ve been trying out blogging, however I’ve really focused more on flickr. I’m a snapshot photographer. Not an art photographer. I have automatic cameras and I use Photoshop Elements 4 to touch the photos up. My ambition is to produce good snapshots using the equipment and software I have. I’m not interested in getting into SLR cameras, with all that involves. I want to keep it simple and inexpensive.

Flickr gives me an outlet for my photos. I’m always snapping something and it’s always been a problem for me, what to do with all those photos. Nobody I know is particularly interested in looking at them.

So I discover flickr. It’s a good idea, somewhere to put my photos and maybe interact with other people who share an interest in the subjects I photograph, or perhaps just the photos themselves.

Getting your photos noticed on flickr takes some effort. If you simply post your photos, chances are they will never be noticed. You need to tag them with as many relevant tags you can think of. Remember, tags are not only so that you can organise your photos. Their other function is so that other flickr users can find photos of a particular subject or issue. Tags however, are not enough. You also need to add your photos to as many relevant groups as you can. The theory is that groups get people together who share something in common. However if you’re concerned about the interestingness of your photos don’t add them to too many groups as this will reduce your ranking .

This has left me somewhat on the outside of flickr. OK, so you ask, what would it take to get me on the inside. Well, for a start off I don’t want to participate in the photo contest. I don’t really care how much interestingness my photos have; although I do enjoy the mystery of it. I’d prefer that I could connect with people who share similar interests to me. I’d also like to connect with people at the same level of photographic skill and ambition.

Comments»

1. Joshua Davis - June 18, 2006

The social aspect of Flickr is going away. I knew it would happen after they got bought by Yahoo!, they market to that mass and the masses aren’t always socail. I’v read about other peoples falling out on Flickr. Peoples computers getting hacked due to some conflicts. Thankfully I resolved mine in about two weeks and we’re on somehwat freindly terms again. But it’s still left a sour taste in my tounge whenevery I go to Flickr.

2. madam - June 18, 2006

I really don’t know about the Yahoo! takeover as I wasn’t at flickr in those days.

However, I think it’s noteworthy that Yahoo! have chosen not to integrate flickr into their service (eg like they did when they took over egroups). Rather, they have left flickr to stand alone. From what I’ve read they just moved the staff to Yahoo! HQ and the data to their data centre. They’ve gone to great lengths to make sure the site “appears” independent. Interesting.

I’ve also read that Yahoo! Photos is being upgraded to incorporate flickr features http://news.com.com/2061-12572_3-6084601.html

3. Joshua Davis - June 19, 2006

Well that’s certaintly true, but they have Intersting Flickr Photos on the Yahoo! home page now. Which brings more folks to Flickr. They’ve also introduced many upgrades to bring in new users. But I’m glad it wasn’t merged with Yahoo! Photos.


Leave a Reply

