jump to navigation

Why do you learn German? April 17, 2008

Posted by Paul Rees in german.
trackback

I often get asked why I am learning German. Here’s the answer.

In March 2007 I travelled to Germany, Berlin specifically, for the first time. On the BA flight from Heathrow I listed to a iTunes download on my iPod, with a title something like “Learn German before you land”.

Well about 15 minutes into listening to this, I turned off the iPod and gave up. I was amazed at how difficult it sounded. My trip to Berlin proceeded in English and I had a fantastic time. However, while I was there I listened further and more closely to the language and liked the sound of it.

On my return to Melbourne I decided to explore German further and began listening to the news in German and other German content from the Internet. I started to read general information about he language.

I made contact with some German people on the Internet mainly via mylanguageexchange.com. Through this I made two good friends Stefan and Torsten. (I’ve now met both of these guys in person. Stefan while he was in Australia and Torsten in Germany).

I then decided to enrol in a beginners course at the Goethe Institut in Melbourne. This started in May 2007.

Anyway to cut a long story short, I just got into it and it is FUN! To my surprise I have found learning German fun (and often infuriating and frustrating). I’ve met some great people, and I have an activity that will fill in my spare time for years to come.

Comments»

1. Neal - April 18, 2008

Thanks for the post and the links to the language exchange site, I think I will check that out. How long did you stay in Berlin?

2. madam - April 18, 2008

Hi Neil. I was in Berlin the first time in March, only one week. The second time in October I was there one month and I did travel outside of Berlin for a few days. This coming September I will be there for 3 weeks.

3. sackgasse - May 26, 2008

^^hihi “and often infuriating and frustrating” Even to me German seems to be difficult and I am a native speaker :D… Don’t give up on it, you can do it.

4. Emma - September 18, 2008

im just about to go sit my first german exam since year 12 (6 years ago) and ich bin sehr glucklich to have discovered your blog! Im wondering where it is in Melb that you went to the casual conversation session? Hope your having a stella time in Deutschland Madam!

5. madam - September 18, 2008

Thank you Emma. Greetings from Berlin. For information about the casual conversation group see http://german.meetup.com/356/

Good luck with your exam.


Leave a Reply

